ICC U19 Men's Cricket World Cup

ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024: An Exciting Tournament on the Horizon

The International Cricket Council U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024 will showcase some of cricket’s young talent from around the globe, taking place this time in South Africa. We take an in-depth look into this event’s schedule, teams, format, venues and so much more! Prepare yourself for an action-packed tournament!

The 15th Edition Of ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup

The ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup is a tremendously acclaimed event designed to give promising cricketers achievement on the worldwide level. Over the years, the match has helped shape future stars like Virat Kohli, Steve Smith, Kane Williamson and Angelo Matthews which has made them stand out inside the tournament.

South Africa As The Host Nation

South Africa will welcome back the U19 Cricket World Cup after an 18 year hiatus, hosting it from January 13 – February 4 bringing 23 days of exciting cricketing action! The nation boasts an extensive cricketing legacy with passionate cricket-playing supporters; therefore this tournament promises 23 days of memorable cricket action!

Participating Teams

U19 Cricket World Cup 2024 will see 16 teams participate, featuring the top 11 full member nations from previous edition of tournament qualifying directly – Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe as they all had qualifying full member status from previous edition of U19 CWC 2018.

Five additional teams from Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Scotland and the USA have qualified through regional qualifiers events for participation. Through each regional pathway they navigated successfully they secured their spots at this tournament.

The Tournament Schedule

The U19 Cricket World Cup 2024 schedule offers an exhilarating line-up of matches spread out over six locations in Colombo, Sri Lanka. Action starts off on January 13 when host nation Sri Lanka faces Zimbabwe at R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium before reigning champion India faces Bangladesh two days later at this same stadium.

From January 13 to 21, teams will participate in group stage matches. There will be four groups with four teams per group; only the top three from each will advance to Super Six stage.

A Revised Format For Enhanced Competition

The International Cricket Council has implemented a revised format for the U19 Cricket World Cup 2024 that is intended to enhance competition and excitement at this tournament. Following the group stage, Super Six stage competition between each group’s top three teams will follow;

At the Super Six stage, two groups of six teams each will compete. At this point, only the top two teams from each Super Six group will advance to the semi-finals, setting the scene for exciting knock-out matches that lead to the grand final at Sinhalese Sports Club Colombo scheduled to take place February 4, 2018.

The Venues

Colombo will host six historical venues of note for matches of the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2024 tournament: P. Sara Oval, Colombo Cricket Club, Nondescripts Cricket Club and Singhalese Sports Club are set as playout sites while R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium will play host for semi-final and final play-outs respectively.

These venues have witnessed the development of many talented cricketers over time and will provide the ideal venue for future stars of cricket to show their abilities.

The Road To The Final

At the U19 Cricket World Cup 2024, competition among teams will be fierce as each contender vies hard for their spot in the final. Each Super Six group’s top two finishers advance directly to semi-finals so every match during Super Six stage may prove essential in reaching this important milestone.

Teams in each initial group stage will compete against opponents from another group based on their positions: Group A teams will face opponents from Group D; while top team from A will meet second and third placers from C in Group B matches. These matches will determine who will compete for this coveted prize at final stage.

The Legacy Of The U19 Cricket World Cup

The U19 Cricket World Cup has provided many young cricketers a platform from which they can launch themselves towards international success, beginning their journeys towards global cricket success. India holds the current record with five U19 World Cup victories while Australia, Pakistan, Bangladesh, South Africa and West Indies have each taken home at least one title each.


The ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup will be the tournament where the young cricketers get an easy opportunity to playout their skills on an international level and get into their respective teams, while future stars battle out for ultimate glory here at home in South Africa! Featuring its revised format, intense competition and rich legacy – don’t miss this edition of U19 CWC which will be a fruitful for our eyes in South Africa!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top


Increase Your Winning Percentage πŸ†