India ODI Captain Shikhar Dhawan

Aggressive India ODI Captain Shikhar Dhawan for New Zealand Series 2022

Virat Kholi, Rohit Shama and KL Rahul rested from India’s tour of New Zealand in November, with T20I captain Hardik Pandya and India ODI captain Shikhar Dhawan vs New Zealand in the ODI and T20I squads, respectively.

Rishabh Pant has been named vice-captain for the tour set to begin with the T20Is on 18th November and five days after Australia’s T20 World Cup final. Neither Ravindra Jadeja nor Jasprit Bumrah missed the T20 World Cup because of injuries and were not in the squad.

India ODI Captain Shikhar Dhawan

Left-handed opener Shikhar Dhawan is the captain of the ODI series against New Zealand. He captained India playing 3 ODI series against South Africa on October 6, 9, and 11 in Lucknow, Ranchi, and New Delhi, respectively.

The all-India Senior Selection Committee has also given maiden ODI call-ups to pacer Mukesh Kumar and middle-order batter Rajat Patidar. Patidar’s career has risen since making a breathtaking 112 for Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2022 Eliminator against the Lucknow SuperGiants at Kolkata.

India ODI captain Shikhar Dhawan were chief selector Chetan Sharma said that was another indicator of his place in India’s 50-overs plans in the immediate future. India ODI captain Shikhar Dhawan recently led India’s second-string ODI squad in a home series against South Africa the previous month.

Virat Kohli Rest For ODI Against New Zealand Series

Virat Kohli has been rested for the ODIs, India against New Zealand, and the 3-match T20I series. Shikar Dhawan will lead India in Virat Kohli’s absence, and no replacement has been named.

Virat Kholi last rested for the Asia Cup following India’s tour of Ireland and England, where he had played all 5 T20Is, all three ODIs, and the entire 5 Test series, where he scored 593 runs.

He had last been returned to lead India in the home series against West Indies before embarking on the tour of Australia. He featured in all T20Is and four tests, and 3 ODIs. In New Zealand, he will play 3 ODIs but will be rested for the 4th and 5th ODIs and the T20I series, which follows immediately.

After the New Zealand series, India will host Australia for a limited-overs tour. The Indian Premier League has also been advanced because of the World Cup, which starts in England on May 30. India will be playing a 2-match T20I and 5-match ODI series against Australia at home from February 24.

India ODI Captain And ODI Squad Against New Zealand Series

ODI Squad For New Zealand Series: Rishabh Pant (VC & WK), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Sen, Suryakumar Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Shubman Gill, Umran Malik, Shikhar Dhawan (C), Deepak Hooda, Deepak Chahar, Sanju Samson (WK), Shreyas Iyer, Kuldeep Yadav.

India ODI Match List Against New Zealand

The venue of the 1st ODI series is Eden Park in Auckland, the 2nd ODI series is Seddon Park in Hamilton, and the 3rd ODI series is Hagley Oval in Christchurch.

DateODI SeriesVenue
Nov 25 2022IND vs NZ, 1st ODIEden Park, Auckland
Nov 27 2022IND vs NZ, 2nd ODISeddon Park, Hamilton
Nov 30 2022IND vs NZ, 3rd ODIHagley Oval, Christchurch

Yuzvendra Chahal And Kuldeep Sen Return ODI Against The New Zealand Series

The star spin pair of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzhvendra Chahal, fondly called KULCHA together, is back. The duo will be in action in the ODI and T20I series in New Zealand starting Friday. The two formed an intimidating spin pair in limited-overs formats a few years back. But loss saw their place in the Indian cricket team.

However, both are on a comeback trail, and Chahal finished as the top wicket-taker in the IPL 2022 with 27 scalps in 17 games, while Yadav was the 5th best bowler with 21 wickets in 14 games.

Yuzhvendra Chahal was also part of India’s 2022 T20 World Cup squad, but he did not get a game. The duo would hope for a good showing in the upcoming series in India against New Zealand.

Sarandeep told the news agency PTI that one of the team’s biggest mistakes was not playing Chahal in the tournament, especially today. You saw how successful England’s wrist spinners were.

India ODI Captain Shikhar Dhawan FAQ

1. Who is the vice captain for ODI Indian cricket?

Rishabh Pant is the vice captain for India in ODI series.

2. Why Virat Kohli rested in New Zealand ODI cricket?

Virat Kohli has been rested for the ODI series because of his continuous work pressure.

3. Why BCCI announced Rohit as captain in ODI Cricket?

Due to continuous failure under Virat’s captaincy, Rohit was appointed as captain by BCCI.

Conclusion – India ODI Captain Shikhar Dhawan

As India ODI captain Shikhar Dhawan this ODI series is the second one as a captain for, Shikhar Dhawan. He had guided the team in both white-ball formats last year in Sri Lanka, directing India to a 2-1 series win in ODIs.

BCCI announced Shikhar Dhawan as ODI captain, took the team to a clean-sweep win in the Caribbean, and joined an elite list of Indian captains who won all the games of an away bilateral series.

Also, this is the 3rd time a team has registered twin-clean sweep series victories over a country in a calendar year. India had earlier won against the Windies by a similar scoreline at home in February under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy.

Zimbabwe was the 1st team to achieve this feat against Bangladesh in 2001. It was Bangladesh who then held out the feat 5 years later against Kenya. The Indian team will return to action on 29th July for the 1st of five T20Is against the Windies.

India ODI captain Shikhar Dhawan is not a part of the Indian setup for the shortest format. Skipper Rohit Sharma will return to the leadership role for the series.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top


Increase Your Winning Percentage 🏆